Click to add content to a collection or to create a new collection close
Login or create an account to access your account settings and tools close
Customize your filters and what appears on the homepage close

Powerful Tools for RDs and their clients

Top rules for shopping gluten-free

October 2013 | 3 min read

24_tips_for_shopping_gluten_free

Rule #1: Check the label! Anything containing “wheat,” “rye,” or “barley” is not gluten-free. Other, seemingly innocent additives, like food starch, caramel coloring, malt vinegar and hydrolyzed plant or vegetable protein also are not likely to be gluten-free.

Rule #2: If you’re not sure, find out! Most food manufacturers have customer service numbers and will answer any questions about products or ingredients. Until you’re sure a product is gluten-free, it’s safer not to use it. Accidentally ingesting gluten can be very harmful to people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. 

Rule #3: Shop the perimeter of the store. Fortunately, many nutritious foods that are naturally gluten-free are found on the perimeter of the store. Fruits and vegetables, lean meats, fish and chicken, nuts and seeds, low-fat unflavored dairy products are all safe bets.

Rule #4: Look for the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) Certified Gluten-Free seal. Many food manufacturers are now making healthy and delicious gluten-free products. This seal indicates that the manufacturing facility was inspected and the product contains less than 10 ppm of gluten.

Sources:

Gluten Intolerance Group Toolkit

close